3 EU Delegations on Whirwind Tour of India

A delegation of the Committee for Internal Market and Consumer Protection, European Union led by Ms. Vicky Ford met the Union Minister for Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution, Mr. Ram Vilas Paswan, in New Delhi on February 23, 2017.

The European Parliament Committee on Internal Market and Consumer Protection is on a visit to Mumbai and New Delhi from 21-23 February 2017 to meet ministries, parliamentarians, standardisations authorities and consumer organisations. The Delegation comprises of Ms. Vicky Ford (IMCO Chair), Mr. Andreas Schwab, Ms. Evelyne Gebhardt, Ms. Olga Sehnalova, Ms. Marlene Mizzi and Mr. Ivan Stefanec.

The Delegation intends to push for a revived EU-India strategic partnership and also cover regulatory issues in areas such as services, standardisation, customs and consumer protection.

MEPs are keen on knowing the Indian customs priorities, including the management of port controls and relevant customs IT systems. They will visit start-up incubators and Info-tech park which offer key opportunities for unlocking the potential of the digital market and of services.

The delegation will try to assess how India ensures safe products, combats counterfeiting, safeguards consumer rights, keeps consumers informed about products/services, cracks down on anti-competitive behaviour and reduces administrative burdens, while sharing experiences about the standardisation process in India and EU.

Two other EU delegations are also visiting India to strengthen the EU-India Strategic Partnership. The AFET Committee under the leadership of its new chair, MEP David McAllister, would be meeting various leaders and representatives of the Indian Government, industry, as well as think tanks.

The AFET delegation comprises of Mr. David McAllister (Chair), Mr. Cristian Dan Preda, Ms.. Željana Zovko, Ms. Neena Gill, Mr. Jo Leinen, Mr. Amjad Bashir, Mr. Urmas Paet.

The AFET delegation will focus on EU-India relations, including an enhanced foreign policy dialogue on issues of global and regional importance and of mutual interest or concern, such as peace, security, and multilateral cooperation.

The third, European Parliament’s Delegation comprising Mr Geoffrey Van Orden, (Chair), Ms. Neena Gill (1st Vice-Chair), Ms Cora Van Nieuwenhuizen (2nd Vice-Chair), Mr Alojz Peterle, Mr Jakob Von Weiszacker, and Mr Flavio Zanonato will be visiting Delhi and Bangalore from 20th – 23rd February, 2017.

In Bangalore the group will meet Karnataka Minister for Industry and representatives of leading Indian and European businesses. Software and aeronautics.

About Naresh Kumar

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!