Home » POLITICS » EC Constitutes Panel to Probe Leak of Karnataka Poll Dates
Karnataka Elections
The Chief Election Commissioner, O.P. Rawat along with the Election Commissioners, Sunil Arora and Ashok Lavasa addressing a press conference to announce the Election Schedule to Legislative Assembly of Karnataka, in New Delhi on March 27, 2018.(PIB)

EC Constitutes Panel to Probe Leak of Karnataka Poll Dates

The Election Commission of India has taken serious note of the leak of Karnataka elections date by a BJP functionary before its official announcement.

In a statement, the EC said, “It was brought to the notice of the Commission that minutes before the official announcement of the Election Schedule, Mr Amit Malviya (BJP party IT head) in a Tweet had already tweeted the date of Poll as 12th May, 2018 and date of Counting as 18th May, 2018.”

In another Tweet, he also gave a reference of Times Now News Channel as his source. Though, the reports in tweets mentioned the Polling date as 12th May, 2018 and Counting date as 18th May, 2018, it was clarified that actual schedule of Karnataka Assembly Elections has the Counting date as 15th May, 2018.

The Commission said it has immediately directed that the matter be probed and necessary and effective action be taken. Accordingly, Commission has constituted a Committee of senior officers of Election Commission of India to investigate the matter and give its report within seven days.

“The Committee would also suggest steps needed to prevent any such eventuality in future. The Committee set up by the Commission has already sought information from the concerned media organizations and individuals,” said the EC.

Leave a Reply


Check Also

Karnataka Elections

Karnataka Assembly Elections from May 12, Full Text of Schedule, Code of Conduct

The Election Commission has declared the agenda for Karnataka state assembly elections scheduled to be ...

Rumours of Martial Law abound in Pakistan as Musharraf’s return expected

Refuting rumours about a possible judicial coup or martial law in Pakistan, Pakistan Prime Minister ...

Rahul Gandhi calls on President

A day after the Republic Day, Congress President Rahul Gandhi called on President Ram Nath ...

error: Content is protected !!